Digital Schools - Saint Kilians JNS

Saint Kilian's Junior School
Go to content

Main menu:

Digital Schools of Distinction
Digital Schools of Distinction is a flagship programme which aims to promote, recognise and encourage excellence in the use of technology in primary schools. Schools that successfully complete the 3 step programme will receive a nationally recognised Digital School of Distinction Award, accredited by the Dept. of Education. To date only 336 primary schools out of the 3,305 primary schools in Ireland have achieved this award.

St. Kilian's Junior School applied for validation in the Digital Schools of Distinction Award, and the validation visit took place on Monday February 5th when Dr. Daithí Ó Murchú came to visit us. Our staff and pupils showcased their digital work, their internet safety skills, internet project work, technology skills and digital camera work. Dr.Ó Murchú was taken through some of the digital work going on in the school, interactive whiteboard work, laptop and ipad use, digital camera work, visualisers, filming, sensory room digital technologies and coding work in our computer room. He saw individual work, paired work, group work and whole class use of our technologies. Saint Kilian's Junior School is now a Digital School of Distinction and we received our award in May 2017.

St Kilian's JNS  participated in Safer Internet Day 2017 on Tuesday 7th February. First and Second classes  engaged in Internet Safety Workshops on Friday 10th February, staff engagied in Safer Internet training on Monday 13th after school and a parent information seminar was given by Zeeko,  in the senior school on Monday 13th

At St. Kilians we are particularly proud of our "Coding Initiative". We have two teams in second class who have been working hard to produce their projects for the annual Scratch competition. Both teams are acting as tutors to children in their classes during their computer time and facilitating their classmates in working with Scratch.
Our digital camera project is also working really well. All classes submitted their best photo to the annual Maths Eyes Competition and  we were delighted to have two winners in the national competition this year, Holly Tobin in Junior Infants and Rhys Costello in First Class. The children received their awards at a ceremomy in the IT Tallaght in May.
tHe thumbnails below show our Maths Eyes Winners, children using their technologies, and children attending the Coolest Projects Exhibition in the RDS in June 2017, click to enlarge

Lorem Ipsum
Dolor sit amet, 12
12345 Consectetur
Donec commodo sapien
et dapibus consequat.
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit.
Back to content | Back to main menu