Conall Byrne Memorial Art Competition - Saint Kilians JNS

Saint Kilian's Junior School
Go to content

Main menu:

Conall Byrne Memorial Art Competition:
The Conall Byrne Memorial Art Competition is held in the school every year around Easter time to celebrate the life of Conall, a past pupil, who passed away in September 2009. Conall was a warm, friendly, happy little boy who touched the hearts of all who knew him. We always remember him with great fondness and affection at St.Kilians.
The theme for the 2019 competition was Disney.  Children were invited to work on their art entries at home with their parents and family members based on this broad theme. A winner was chosen in each class by the class teacher who went forward to the final of the competition on Wednesday 10th April. The two overall winners were chosen by Mary and Brian, Conall's parents who we are so grateful to, for giving us their time and expertise. The class winners received medals, certificates and a prize each and the two overall winners also received Smyths vouchers and had their names engraved on the memorial plaque.
The winner of the Infant category was Bonnie Pavel from room 3. Bonnie included the photos of all the work she did with her family to design and produce her faboulous tower. Well done Bonnie!
The winner of the First/Second Class category was Aoife Smyth for her wonderful stone tower. Aoife described all the work she did with her parents to make her entry. Well done Aoife!
The class winners were....  room 1- Hitaanshu Katkar, room 2- Zuzanna Wyrnol,  room 3- Bonnie Pavel, room 5- Hannah Berkley, room 6- Adam Massoune, room 9- Aoife Smith, room 10 - Holly Tobin, room 11- Leo Quinn, room 15- Jake Cummins and room 16- Harry O'Reilly.

This year we included an intermediate winning category due to the very high standard of many of the entries. These children received medals, certificates and prizes. The winning children were Carter Aiken from room 3, Noah Evangelisti from room 5,  Alisha Potts from room 9, Alex Carroll from room 9,  Sophia Sweeney-Lakes from room 10, Erin Byrne from room 15, Cody Doyle from room 15, Niamh Reilly from room 15, Síofra Cooper-Edgeworth from room 15, Laya Murray from room 16 and Alexa Carroll from room 16. Well done to all of them.

We were overwhelmed by the variety and standard of the entries this year and would like to say a big thank you to all the children who took part. More than seventy children also recieved easter eggs and highly commended certificates for their wonderful work.

See photos of highlights of the competition below
Lorem Ipsum
Dolor sit amet, 12
12345 Consectetur
Donec commodo sapien
et dapibus consequat.
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit.
Back to content | Back to main menu